Monastery of the Caves – Pechersk Lavra – Kiev
Monastery of the Caves - Pechersk Lavra (Kiev, Ukraine) – description, history, location, opinions, Photos.
The Monastery of Kiev-Petchersk Lavra is the oldest and one of the main Orthodox shrines, only monastic complex, whose analogs are no more in the world. This is the first monastery in the territory of Kievan Rus, virtually preserved in their original form of the temples, erected in the century 11.
in essence, the Monastery of Kiev-Petchersk Lavra is a real city in the heart of Kiev, there is 14 Orthodox churches, a monastery, seven museums, one of the first that had in Russia, and etc. D. Lavra is translated from Greek as “Street”, not all monasteries received this title, and its scale is spoken with great importance.
Gradually, the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin and the monastic cells formed a monastery. In 1688, the monastery received the status of laurel, this is, a crowded monastery, important, under the direct guidance of the sacred synod. Members of blondes receive the status of Archimandrite.
For many centuries, Laurel was subjected to attacks and attacks, and several times was destroyed, but it was restored several times. They were looted by polovtsiy, Turkish, Crimean Tatars and fire in 1718, the monastery library was destroyed and many documents were destroyed.
The principal amount of blondes are the relics of the venerable fathers and lay people chosen. These relics are stored since the fourteenth century. There are also the tombs of many princes and noble families, as well as the tomb of Peter Stolypin Arkadyevich. famous miraculous icons and old are brought here, for example, the icon of the Assumption of the Mother of God.
In the Soviet era, all Ukrainian museums were concentrated on the territory of Lavra: the State Historical Library of Ukraine (located here until this day), Book Museum, the Museum of Historical Treasures, and others. The Great Patriotic War severely damaged the Assumption Cathedral, the latter has been exploded and consequently, the monastery's treasures were looted. However, the celebration of the baptism of Rus Millennium was being restored gradually.
Today, the laurel is divided into high and low, the latter includes the historical and cultural complex land, and the lower Lavra is a current monastery with their own caves, they are also distinguished from aproxidamente 313 meters long and in Far 293 meters. Generally, according to some reports, these caves are larger and have a branched system of underground passages that run beneath the waters of the Dnipro River and even bind with the monasteries of the neighboring towns.
The Lavra caves
But the most valuable treasures of blondes are the underground, to a depth of five to fifteen meters, it was there that the founder of the monastery Antony, a monk, He settled a thousand years. In underground caves there are cells where the monks spent their lives in prayer for ordinary people, besides being the place where were the relics of the saints. Between them, it should be mentioned mainly three chapters peaceful, the world (or spruce) which has healing properties and help all who come to Laurel with faith.
It is noteworthy that, from 1917 a 1988, Soviet authorities made a monastery museum, these chapters left muttering, but once the monastery began to work again, heads froze again. Also in Laurel territory for graves of many legendary personalities, for example, ilya Muromets, Nestor Chronicler and even Peter Stolypin.
History and characteristics
All temples were built on the means of the princes of Kiev, who often visited the bay, and some of them even broke into the room of the monks, as Prince of Chernigov, svyatoslav Davidovich, who later became a monk. These blessed monarchs came here, as Peter the Great, The second Kateryna, Mykola Dvoy and other. It was here that the main chronicle of Kievan Rus was created – “The Tale of Bygone Years”.
Life today in Laurel
Today, the laurel occupies an area of about thirty acres, It acquired its present appearance only at the end of the century 18, when the monastery was restored after the most severe fire, at that time the stone wall was erected and the main Cathedral of the Assumption Holy acquired a new façade in the best traditions of the Ukrainian Baroque.
Kyiv-Pechersk Lavra is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List.